Home » cake » Japanese Ricotta cotton cheesecake

Japanese Ricotta cotton cheesecake


IMG_6704

IMG_6712

You may like my recipe for Japanese Yogurt cotton cheesecake if you’re a big fan of this soft like cloud cheesecake. 

Last week when buying Ricotta cheese, I tentatively used it for making Lasagna, which is as old as a fairy tale; however, my store-bought Ricotta was too big to use it all since my baking pan was small enough for 4 persons. I quickly used the leftover for our dinner dessert and this cheesecake came to my head, unintentionally. Why ? I was watching Cooking with the Dog (Oh my, am I freely advertising this channel but Francis the dog is so cute that I like watching him again and again ) and thinking of something Japanese.

Not only is Ricotta cheesecake tangy but also sweet flavored. Ricotta itself is not as sour as the regular cheese so that Ricotta does not bring you the vinegar feeling. I like serving this cake with jam (ideally strawberry jam or preservatives) or blueberry or any kind of fruits that you like. Serve warm or cold has its own taste and sometimes, I’m so gluttonous that this cake has no chance to be served when it’s cold.

Ingredients

– 250 g Ricotta cheese

– 7 eggs, separated

– 80 g butter

– 1 tbsp amaretto

– 60 g cake flour

– 100 ml heavy cream

– 130 g sugar

Method

– In a double boiler, melt butter, amaretto, cheese and heavy cream with 30 g sugar until combined. Set the bowl aside for 10 – 15 minutes to cool down.

– Lightly beat the egg yolks then gradually mix in the cheese mixture.

– Sift the cake flour and gently fold in the yolk mixture.

– Use a fine mesh strainer, strain the yolk and cheese mixture to have a very fine mixture.

– Beat the egg whites with 100 g sugar at low speed until the beaten whites reach stiff peak.

– Use a whisk to fold the whites to the yolk mixture.

– Use bread pan (as I used here) or any mold you like to steam bake the cake at 300 F (150 C) for 1 hour and 10 minutes.

– Let the cake sit in the open oven for 5 minutes before unmolding. This technique can prevent the cake from shrinking.

Here’s my tutorial video for making this cake

Leave a Reply

